top of page
  • Casey Lyons

Five Favorite Superfoods

Updated: Apr 25, 2019

If nothing else, they have a fun name!


As a foodie, I, of course, have done a lot of research about the ultimate foods - superfoods. Superfoods are nutritionally dense foods that are extremely beneficial for your health. Not too mention, they taste incredible too. Check out five of my favorite superfoods (and supplements) below:


1. Turmeric:


You guessed it, the first superfood/supplement I want to talk about is the well-known anti-inflammatory, turmeric. Curcumin, turmeric's active ingredient is known as nature's anti-inflammatory. In addition, it helps with pain relief, liver function, digestion, and possibly the reduction in the risk of cancer! I integrated turmeric into my daily supplement routine about a year ago, and I can honestly say that I feel better than I did before. As someone who got knee surgery at a very young age, inflammation runs in my veins - well, actually my joints. But ever since I started using turmeric everyday, my joints have felt much better!


2. Acai:


Acai is one of my favorite superfoods and not just because I love acai bowls. Acai berries are rich in probiotics and antioxidants and are known to slow down signs of aging. In addition to antioxidants, acai berries are chock full of healthy fats, fiber, amino acids, electrolytes, vitamins, and minerals. They're proven to help overall skin health, healthy cognitive functioning, digestion, and prevention of certain diseases. Next time, I won't be saying no to that acai bowl.


3. Cacao:


It wouldn't be a food post unless I mentioned chocolate ... or chocolate's close cousin, cacao. Cacao refers to the unprocessed version of the cacao bean (where cocoa is also derived from). A high source of iron, magnesium, and calcium and a natural mood elevator, cacao is a great addition to any diet. Plus, it gives you an excuse to buy that dark chocolate bar or mix cacao flakes in your protein shake! It's improving your health, right?


4. Ginger:


One of life's greatest pleasures is the ginger that comes on the side of sushi - at least for me. Though I may be in the minority, I love the taste of ginger. Raw ginger, ginger tea, ginger beer - you name it and I'll consume it. Ginger is high in antioxidants and known to help reduce inflammation and nausea. Don't skip on the side of ginger next time you order your sushi - it's like a mini side of health benefits!


5. Avocado:


Avocados are one of my favorite food, which I know is a little basic. But, they're so good and who doesn't love guacamole? Not to mention that they're one of the best sources of healthy fats you can find! High in monounsaturated fats (or MUFAs, which is more fun to say), avocados are known to reduce inflammation and the risk of heart disease, diabetes, and cancer. More guac please!

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page