top of page
  • Casey Lyons

Let's Talk About Sugar

Updated: Apr 25, 2019

Or, let's not and say we did.



Ughhh. I’ve been putting off writing this post because I know it’s going to make me feel incredibly hypocritical (one of my biggest pet peeves). It’s not because the information that I’m going to share with you is incorrect, rather it’s because I know that it’s correct yet I still continue to indulge in sugar more often than I should.


So, I guess this post will be a learning opportunity for some and a reminder for me. A reminder that my habits are incredibly unhealthy for me. My doctor has told me time and time again that my diet is a huge factor in my overall health, but, unfortunately for me, it’s the hardest thing for me to change. It’s not that I don’t want to change it, I really do! It’s just that my not-so-subtle addiction to sugar is a real thing, something that I’m working on and hoping changes soon. That being said, let’s talk about sugar in hopes that by the end of this post, I too will try to do something about my sugar intake.


 

Beyond an incredible taste and instant release of dopamine, sugar does not provide the body with any health effects. Actually, it negatively impacts the body in so, sooo many ways. Not only can it lead to more cavities, weight gain, increased risk for chronic diseases, but it also has an effect on cognition and psychological health. Yet, we still continue to eat it? “Some estimates from US government surveys say that the average American consumes 152 pounds of sugar and about 133 pounds of flour [which convert to sugar] annually,” says Mark Hyman, MD, in Food: What the Heck Should I Eat? I can promise you that I fall in the bucket of the average American, and, I don't know about you, but that number scares me.


So, I’ve been harping on the negative effects of sugar, but what actually are they? I decided to make a brief laundry list below (didn’t want to hammer the point home too much, it would be too hard on myself):


1) Negative Effects on the Immune System


Too much sugar affects hormone levels, specifically insulin. While I am no doctor, I do understand that when you consume sugar, blood glucose levels rise, and the body releases this hormone called insulin to regulate your levels. When you start to consume too much sugar, and your body has to repeatedly release insulin, the body starts to become resistant to the hormone, leading to insulin resistance, and, if not careful, type 2 diabetes.


Scary.


 

2. Increased Risk for Disease


Inflammation is risk factor for a wide variety of chronic diseases, including cardiovascular diseases and dementia. Sugar is one of the biggest triggers of inflammation. I don’t understand nor do I want to understand the science behind it, but just know that sugar = inflammation and inflammation = not good, so, by the transitive property, sugar = not good.


Ugh. I know.


 

3. Weight Gain


While I will never be one to tell anyone to step on the scale, it is important to understand that sugar is one of the main causes of visceral fat, specifically in the midsection. Carrying excess weight here is natural (specifically in girls, our bodies are designed to have children), but too much excess weight can lead to those chronic diseases that keep showing up in this list.


 

4. Stress and Mood Swings


Sugar is known to cause mood swings, again having to do with how much insulin is released (if too much is released, in the case of overcompensating for too much sugar, your blood sugar can actually dip pretty low which can cause fatigue and mental fogginess). Even more importantly, high blood sugar can raise cortisol levels - aka the stress hormone. Chronically elevated cortisol levels are not good for your physical or mental health. They can lead to weight gain, an impaired immune system, and an increased risk for chronic disease.


 

5. Lack of Nutrients


Let’s be honest with each other. Foods that are high in refined sugar are low in the macro and micronutrients that our bodies need to survive (we’re not talking about natural sugars like the ones you find in fruit, those are actually good for you!). Lack of nutrients reduces your overall health, often leading to suppressed immunity and risk of infections. So, why choose sugar when you could choose nutrients?


I still don’t know.


 

Okay, I’m done. I don’t want to talk about all the negative effects of sugar anymore. While I know that this post is important and accurate, I promise you that if someone were to offer a piece of chocolate to me in the next twenty minutes, I would be hard-pressed to say no. That being said, I’m starting a new challenge for myself, something that I’m not used to in any facet of life: moderation. I’m sure you’ve heard it - everything is fine in moderation! But, I really believe it’s true, and I especially believe that it’s true for sugar. I’m going to try to be a bit more intentional about my sugar intake, specifically on a day-to-day basis. What do I mean? I’m gonna eat one peanut butter cup from Trader Joe’s tonight rather than six. I’m only going to have one, or two, juices this week. I’m going to make small changes and see how I go. Who wants to try it with me?

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page